Databases

Database List

Name URL/Description
A Dictionary of African Mythology
This collection of fascinating, mysterious, and revealing tales captures the immense sweep and diversity of African mythology.
A Dictionary of Political Biography
Covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1,000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world. Each entry includes an account of the background, career, and achievements of the individual concerned, balancing fact with critical appraisal.
A South American Setting for Book of Mormon | Mormon Matters
A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore
A Vision of Britain through Time
A vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001. Including maps, statistical trends and historical descriptions.
AACC International Approved Methods of Analysis
The most respected, referred to, and relied upon source in the field of grain science and technology containing standardized methods of analysis among cereal laboratories.
AAPG/Datapages Online
AAPG/Datapages Online contains archives of all AAPG publications back to 1917.

Usage Terms

  • Files are not to be copied for other individuals or organizations, nor given to individuals or organizations outside of BYU.

AATA Online
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA Online) includes abstracts of international conservation literature covering research, analysis, restoration, preservation, and technical documentation of works of art, material culture, and archaeological sites and materials. Included are articles from more than 470 journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, dissertations and other print resources, and some audiovisual and digital items. Quarterly additions of both current and historical literature. Coverage of AATA from 1955--. (Register individually for advanced searching)
Abbreviations.com
The A to Z of Acronyms and Abbreviations on the Web
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Lang. & Literature)
An English Literature database. This database contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations from around the world on the topic of English literature. British, American and Commonwealth writings are represented. Includes full-text versions of 120 literature journals. Coverage is from 1920 to the present.
ABI/INFORM (ProQuest)
Scholarly, news, and trade publications in all fields of business. Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, Accounting & Tax resources, and the Wall Street Journal. General coverage ranges from 1971 to the present.

Usage Terms

  • No systematic downloading of this database is allowed
  • Any copies of articles or other materials from this database must include appropriate citation information (title, author, publisher, copyright notice, etc.) and must be deleted when no longer in use.

ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle
ABU is a corpus of literature, mainly French, searchable by author, text, or words.
ABZU: Ancient Near East Studies on the Web
A Near Eastern Studies website. This website is maintained by several universities and scholarly societies, and provides public domain scholarly tools. It contains references to archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 10,000 journals, including over 9,000 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.

Usage Terms

  • NO systematic downloading.
  • Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Academic Video Online (ASP)
Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the video published by Alexander Street Press. Cross-search American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, Education in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library Online, Nursing Education in Video, Opera in Video, Theatre in Video, World History in Video.
Academy of American Poets
Search over 8,000 poems by occasion, theme, and form, or search by keyword or poet’s name in the field below. More than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets. Several other poetry resources.
Accounting and Tax (ProQuest)
ProQuest Accounting and Tax provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more, including over 2,300 publications with hundreds in full-text.
AChoiceLand.com Maps and Illustrations
A Baja California Model
ACM Digital Library
Database of the Association of Computing Machinery. This database consists of journals, magazines and conference reports. There is an extensive archive of records including citations, abstracts and full-text for periodicals published by the ACM. Coverage varies depending on publication. General coverage is from 1966 to the present.

Usage Terms

  • May download and print individual records for research and scholarly purposes only.
  • May not modify, adapt, transform, translate, or create any derivative work based on any of the materials in the database.
  • Any copyright notices, or other notices appearing in the DL may not be removed, obscured, or modified in any way.

Acronym Finder
A searchable database of abbreviations and acronyms about computers, technology, telecommunications, and the military. Search also for word meanings and locations.
ACS Journal Archives
A database for American Chemical Society journals. The database covers all of the more than 30 journals and periodicals of the American Chemicals Society. Full-text is available for all ACS periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue of each periodical to the present.
ACS Style Guide
The American Chemical Society Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Ad Age DataCenter
From the publisher of Advertising Age, AdAge.com's DataCenter features profiles of top advertisers, media, agencies, ad spending and more.
Ad*Access
Duke's digital collection of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Adforum.com
90,000 of the world's best ads
Advertising Careers
Careers In Focus: Advertising and Marketing
Advertising REDBOOKS
Red Books provides data on advertising agencies, including accounts, specializations, billings, and contact info for key personnel. Red Books also includes advertiser profiles for companies, including adspend by media and the agencies retained. Search by agency, advertiser, brand, or person.
Africa South of the Sahara
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
Africa Web Links
A list of on-line resources related to Africa
Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students
A general resource for African research for students at the high-school level or higher. Consists of 450 alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions, geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and writing systems. Includes timelines, definitions and quick-reference fact boxes.
Africabib.org
Africabib.org: Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database
African American Historical Serials (EBSCO)
Features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
African American Music Reference (ASP)
African American Music Reference from Alexander Street Press offers comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
African American Newspapers
African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. From Accessible Archives.
African Children's and Youth Literature
Provides a critical introduction to African children's and youth literature.
African Journals Online
A list of websites for periodical titles from Africa that are available online. The periodicals are listed by subject and indicate the country of origin. The list is updated regularly.
African Newspaper Archive
Part of the World Newspaper Archive, more than 70 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other locales. From CRL and Newsbank
African Writers
Contains essays on African writers from seventeen countries writing in English, French, Portuguese, Arabic, and indigenous languages. Subjects span the late nineteenth century to the present.
African Writers Series (ProQuest)
Includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
AfriGeneas : African Ancestored Genealogy
A website that focuses on African Heritage Genealogy. This website provides guides to researching African-American ancestry and links to African-American genealogy resources.
Agricola (EBSCO)
AGRICOLA This is an agricultural sciences database that contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library including journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports from the USDA agencies and the U.S. State Agricultural Colleges and Universities. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed and it covers the years from 1979 to the present. The database is updated monthly.

Usage Terms

  • NO systematic downloading.
  • Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Agricultural and Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A
AGU Digital Library
The AGU Digital Library is a comprehensive collection of more than 100 years of Earth and space science research.
AIChE Home Page
The American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with nearly 43,000 members from over 90 countries. AIChE has the breadth of resources and expertise you need whether you are in core process industries or emerging areas, such as nanobiotechnology.
AICPA Premium Research Collection
AidData
AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, provide data in an accessible format, and strengthen efforts to improve donor and recipient strategic planning and coordination.
AIGA Design Archive
American Institute of Graphic Arts archive of design, containing images for brand and identity systems, editorial design, book design, illustration, motion graphics, package design, typographic design, promotional design and advertising, corporate and communications design, environmental graphic design, and information design.
Alfred Hitchcock, The Master of Suspense
A website devoted to the film director Alfred Hitchcock. Includes online resources this directors life and work.
All-Movie Guide
A website that lists over 160,000 films with production information, cast and crew credits, synopses, reviews, etc. Includes a glossary where you can search a wide variety of film-related terms written by experts in the field.
Allen County Public Library Genealogy Gateway
The Webpage for Allen County Public Library. Provides some historical and genealogical research collections, this public library's site provides access to various other genealogy links.
Allgemeine/Neue Deutsche Biographie (ADB/NDB Digitales Register)
This website combines the facsimile full text of over 26,000 articles from the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (General Germany Biography), published in 56 volumes, with name indexes of the more recent but less complete Neue Deutsche Biographie (New German Biography) in 21 volumes. The search interface is in German, a project of the Bavarian State Library in Munich.
Alt-Health Watch (EBSCO)
An Alternative Medicine and Healthcare related database. This database contains perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness through coverage of the full spectrum of subject areas. Sources include peer-reviewed reports and journals, proceedings, newsletters, original research and book excerpts. Several of the 140 international sources are full-text. Coverage is from 1990 to the present.

Usage Terms

  • NO systematic downloading.
  • Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Altdeutsche Textbibliothek
The Old German Text Library contains over 120 German medieval texts.
AMA Manual of Style
The AMA Manual of Style Online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.
Ambrose Digital Video
Streaming video including: The BBC Shakespeare Plays, The Great Directors: The Making of 21st Century Hollywood, A History of Great Playwrights, Hollywood's Greatest Directors, Shakespeare in Italy, and Shakespeare: The Animated Tales.
America's Career InfoNet
America's Career InfoNet (ACINet) is ideal for job seekers, employers, human resource specialists and workforce development specialists to: learn more about typical wages and employment trends across occupations and industries; check education, knowledge, skills and abilities against requirements for most occupations; search for employer contact information nationwide; obtain cost of living data; call up state profiles with labor market conditions
America's Historical Imprints
Simultaneously search Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
A database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.

Usage Terms

  • For personal, non-commercial, educational, and research purposes only.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1877 presents over 6,900 titles. Representing almost two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, on through the Civil War era, and beyond to the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (EBSCO)
A database that covers North American Scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. This database contains citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications dealing with all areas of life and society in Eastern Europe. Coverage is from 1990 to the present.

Usage Terms

  • NO systematic downloading.
  • Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

American Chemical Society Web Page
General Web page of the American Chemical Society. Provides links to other chemistry-related Web sites. To search journals, see "American Chemical Society Journals and Backfiles."
American Cinematographer
American Civil War Letters and Diaries (ASP)
A Civil War database from Alexander Street Press. This database provides extensive Primary source material. Sources in this collection include letters, diaries, memoirs and books written by people who lived during the Civil War. Authors include soldiers, politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, seamen, wives, and foreign and domestic spies. Writings are full-text and sorted by author, event, location and battles. Coverage is of texts written between 1855 and 1875.

Usage Terms

  • May make a limited number of print or digital copies for research, education, or other non-commercial use.
  • May not alter, remove, or obscure copyright notice.

American Civil War Research Database (ASP)
The definitive online resource for researching the soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. From Alexander Street Press.
American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)
The ACSM webpage. The ACSM advances and integrates scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine. This page provides information and links to other related websites.
American Consumer Culture
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 from Adam Matthew provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era's foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The collection is a treasure trove of information on some of America's best known brands, containing thousands of reports commissioned by companies.
American County Histories Collection
Includes county histories for all 50 states and DC from the late 1800s to the early 1900s. These books include chapters with detailed coverage of local history, geology, geography, weather, transportation, lists of all local participants in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, government, the medical and legal professions, churches and ministers, industry and manufacturing, banking and insurance, schools and teachers, noted celebrations, fire departments and associations, cemeteries, family histories, health and vital statistics, roads and bridges, public officials and legislators, and many additional subject areas. Each part of the entire collection contains pages of text, plates and maps from all counties. From Accessible Archives.
American Dietetics Association
With nearly 70,000 members, the American Dietetic Association is the nation's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
American Elements
Technical information for over 3,000 elemental metal, metallic compound, ceramic and crystalline items.
American Fact Finder
contains population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
American Fiction, 1774-1920 (Gale)
American Fiction encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. The collection includes novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts and sketches, allegories, and tract like tales typifying the development of American literature in a changing culture.
American Film Institute
The American Film Institute Homepage. This sight provides information on films and other news and events for the AFI. The American Film Institute is dedicated to advancing and preserving film in all its diversity.
American Film Institute Catalog (ProQuest)
The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day.
American Film Scripts Online (ASP)
A Film Script database from Alexander Street Press. This database indexes over 1000 film and movie scripts from selected directors and studios. Includes full-text scripts as well as bibliographic and biographical information on directors and scriptwriters. Films can be searched by writer, title, year, characters, subject or director.

Usage Terms

  • May make a limited number of print or digital copies for research, education, or other non-commercial use.
  • May not alter, remove, or obscure copyright notice.

American History from the Gilder Lehrman Collection
This unique collection from Adam Matthew documents American History from the earliest settlers in 1493 to the mid-twentieth century 1945. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
American History in Video (ASP)
American History in Video from Alexander Street Press provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 3,146 titles, with videos from new partner Pennebaker-Hegedus Films, additional videos from Ken Burns and PBS and from The History Channel, and dozens more years of Universal Newsreel, equalling approximately 765 hours.
American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
American History Through Literature 1870-1920
Presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
American Hospital Directory (AHD)
The American Hospital Directory provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors. AHD is not affiliated with the American Hospital Association (AHA) and is not a source for AHA Data.

Usage Terms

Users should read notice, disclaimer, and agreement at http://www.ahd.com/agree.html

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. From Adam Matthew.
American Indians and the American West (ProQuest)
Consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. One of the highlights of this module is its focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much detail as the calamitous 19th Century. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these 20th Century records, American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971, features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Web Page
The official homepage of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). Provides web access to online versions of journals published by the American Institute of Physics and to other physics-related journals and magazines. Also provides access to physics reference information.
American Mathematical Society
American Mathematical Society's homepage. This website includes access to MathSciNet, the online index of Mathematical Reviews, and the journals of the AMS. Also includes guides to mathematics on the web, websites for full-text mathematics books, career information, and a variety of other information relating to mathematics.
American Memory (Library of Congress)
Digital collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicling historical events, people, places, and ideas that shape America. Materials include spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)
A Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.

Usage Terms

  • No systematic downloading of this database is allowed
  • Any copies of articles or other materials from this database must include appropriate citation information (title, author, publisher, copyright notice, etc.) and must be deleted when no longer in use.

American Revolution on Fold3
Explore millions of American Revolutionary War documents that are found nowhere else on the Internet. Discover details about individual soldiers, read letters penned by the Founding Fathers, view documents from The Continental Congress and more.
American Rhetoric
American Rhetoric combines the Online Speech Bank, an index to over 5,000 speeches, and The Top 100 Speeches into one searchable database.
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library
ASABE publishes over 1,500 information resources each year, including technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, a membership magazine, textbooks, reference books, and standards. The publications are targeted to engineers, scientists, technicians, and others interested in the subject areas covered by ASABE. Researchers, equipment or system designers, consultants, extension specialists, students, instructors, and other technically oriented industry and agri-business personnel are frequent users of ASABE information.
American Society of Microbiology
The home page for the American Society of Microbiology. Contains searchable archives and links to assist with microbiology research.
American West - Maps
Maps are a key feature of The American West project. There are two types of maps: “Original maps” providing images of original source material and “Data maps” that have been specifically produced as a reference tool to be used in association with the original source material.
American Women Writers
Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns. Entries feature an assessment of the writer's works; basic biography and complete bibliography, as well as comprehensive data on writers' names, including pseudonyms, aliases, parents' names and husbands' names, etc.
American WWI Military Camp Newspapers
Camp newspapers kept soldiers informed about the home front, political questions of the day - including those relating to the war itself - progress of their training, and the conducting of the war abroad. Also, they carried articles on what it was like to leave home by both recruits and draftees, the initial excitement of training, the drudgery of camp life, attitudes toward officers and fellow soldiers, the clash of arms, and news about the enemy. Camp personnel, places, and events are described with a richness that brings new credibility and perspective to scholarly research. Camp newspapers also included non-war related advertisements, poetry, short stories, memoirs, jokes, and cartoons. Photographs and sketches portrayed life in the various camps, on the home front, and at the battlefront. Part of the America and World War 1 series by Accessible Archives.
ANALYSIS OF THE SYSTEM of United States Land Surveys
A general description using text and diagrams of the following: Metes and Bounds, Meridians and Base Lines, Townships of Land, Sections of Land, and Fractional Pieces of Land.
Analytic Bibliography of On-line Neo-Latin Texts
An analytic bibliography of Latin texts written during the Renaissance and later that are freely available to the general public on the Web.
Ancestral Atlas
Share your family history ... and connect it to the world - the unique map-based genealogy site that enables you to add and share your family history events worldwide. The map is shared by everyone using Ancestral Atlas - just pin your family history data to it and choose whether to make that information visible in order to network with others.
Ancestry Institution
A Family History and genealogy database. Ancestry provides over 1 billion names in over 3,000 unique databases. Databases include the Social Security Death Index; U.S. Census Records; Ireland Vital Records; German Immigration Records; Historical Register and Dictionary of the U.S. Army 1789-1903; the Register of Revolutionary War Officers; and numerous databases dedicated to specific ethnic origins and regions.
Animation Industry Database
Resource for the professional animation, visual effects and gaming-related communities. Use the database and free downloadable directories to find animation, visual effects and related companies located throughout the world. Choose from almost 5,000 companies and schools in over 100 categories ranging from animation production to distribution, from advertising agencies to trade commissions.
Animation Magazine
Animation World Magazine
Animation World Network
Provides information to the international animation community. Sections include news, calendar, releases, newsletters, career connections, forums, gallery exhibitions, searchable database archives, monthly publications ("Animation World Magazine", "VFX Magazine"), web animation, etc.
ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online
Historical Austrian newspapers and magazines online (1716 - 1938)
Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Annual Reviews
Browse individual titles from the Annual Reviews Biomedical, Physical and Social Science Suites

Usage Terms

  • May not use any part of database in the provision of any product, publication, or other service offered for commercial sale.

Anthem for Doomed Youth
Writers and Literature of The Great War, 1914-1918: an exhibit commemorating the 80th anniversary of the Armistice, November 11, 1918.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is the premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online including current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications through the end of 2006 (including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly) and an electronic archive of all AAA journals.

Usage Terms

  • May not remove, obscure, or modify any copyright notice found in the material.
  • May not be used for commercial purposes.

AOCS Methods
Since the 1920s, the global fats and oils industry has relied on the analytical standards of the Official Methods and Recommended Practices of the AOCS (AOCS Methods) for processing, trading, utilizing, and evaluating fats, oils, and lipid products. Worldwide acceptance has made the AOCS Methods a requirement wherever fats and oils are analyzed, they contain the methodology required for proficiency testing in the Laboratory Proficiency Program (LPP), as well as AOCS Laboratory Certification. Additionally, AOCS methods are internationally recognized for trade, and several are listed by the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

Usage Terms

  • No systematic downloading.
  • May not provide access to database or materials to any third party.
  • May not modify, alter, or create derivative works of the materials.
  • For scholarly, noncommercial use only.

AP Video Archive
AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP), one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895, sourced both from AP's own coverage and from our premium content partners, including ABC. Hours of new video footage is added daily with coverage from AP's global news gathering network.
APA Electronic Formats
The APA Style homepage. Provides APA guidelines for citing electronic sources and materials
APA Format
Guide to using the APA formatting style produced by the University of Southern Mississippi Libraries.
APA Reference Style
Guide to APA style developed by the BYU Linguistics and English Language Department. Includes exercises on writing and proofreading citations.
APA Style - Advanced
APA (American Psychological Association) documentation style advanced guidelines for citing print and online sources. This style is used in researching the Social Sciences. This style is used in researching the Social Sciences.
Apocrypha & other Non Canonical Biblical Writings
Full-text translations of Old Testament and New Testament Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha, as well as the Nag Hammadi Codices and other ancient sacred texts. Some texts are fully searchable.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 Digital Archive (Gale)
Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.
Archival Resources (OCLC)
Multimedia collection of digital maps, manuscripts, letters, photographs, works of art, sound recordings, and moving images from prestigious archives, libraries, and museums from around the world. Constantly updated.

Usage Terms

  • May not systematically download and store copies of records from any Online Resource or use any record for commercial purposes.
  • May download or print single copies of records as long as a copyright notice is included.

Archive of Americana
Includes digitized collections covering the earliest printed newspapers and documents. Includes American State Papers, 1789-1838; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
Archiwum Map Wojskowego Instytutu Geograficznego 1919-1939
Map Archive of Wojskowy Instytut Geograficzny (WIG) 1919-1939. While the index is in English, most of the links lead you to sites and maps that are in Polish, German etc.
Argentina on the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A web page that is sponsored by the University of Texas, Austin. This page provides access to Internet-based information to, from, or about Argentina. Includes links to newspapers, magazines and radio stations.
Art and Architecture Archive (ProQuest)
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Art and Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Art Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts periodicals in art, archaeology, architecture, design, photography, film, theatre, and television, animation, etc. Includes reviews of books, art exhibitions, films, and plays, and art reproductions in journals. Contains full-text coverage of periodicals from 1984 to the present. Formerly through Wilson.
Art Full Text /Art Index Retrospective (EBSCO)
The online version of Wilson's Art Index provides indexing, abstracting, and full text coverage of over 1000 international journals in fine and applied arts, architecture, design, and museology. Indexing 1929 to present, with abstracts from 1984 to present, and full text articles from 300 journals from 1995 to present.
Art History Gateway
Major portal of art and art history websites, organized by century and country.
Art History Virtual Library
Sponsored by CHArt (The Computers and History of Art Group), this site includes links to artists, schools, periods, themes; large image collections; indexes and collections of art history resources; organizations; online publications; etc.
Art Index Retrospective (EBSCO)
Complements Art Full-Text in the coverage of journals from 1929 to 1984. Indexes abstracts of visual arts-related articles. Followed by Art Full-text, which covers from 1984 to present.
Art Junction
Structured virtual environment within which teachers and students can pursue artistic and educational goals.
Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCO)
A rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.

Usage Terms

Permitted Uses
(1) classroom instruction and related activities, (2) student assignments, (3) public display or public performance in a museum, gallery or similar facility, including use in exhibit labels and other components of the exhibit, (4) public display or public performance as part of a professional presentation at a seminar, conference, or workshop, or other such similar professional activity; (5) use in a student or faculty portfolio, including non-public, display thereof, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field; and (6) use in a dissertation, including reproductions of the dissertation for personal use and library deposit, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field. Prohibited Uses
Access to and use of the Art Museum Image Gallery under this Agreement for any and all purposes other than education, research and scholarship is prohibited. More specifically, without express authorization from the copyright holder, the Subscriber and Licensed Users are strictly prohibited from: (1) publishing any Art Museum Image Gallery work in any medium or format, (2) redistributing any Art Museum Image Gallery work by any means beyond the Licensed User community, and (3) storing any Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part, beyond the term of this Agreement, unless expressly permitted. In no event may a Subscriber or its Licensed Users use any Art Museum Image Gallery work, or any adaptation thereof, in a commercial or business related manner. The Subscriber, or persons acting on behalf of the Subscriber, is prohibited from using any Art Museum Image Gallery work for fund-raising, marketing promotion, or public relations.
Required Notices
Any and all publicly displayed Art Museum Image Gallery work must reference: (1) any required copyright management information, such as the name of the creator of the work, the name and other identifying information of the copyright owner, terms and conditions for the uses of the work, and such other information as may be required by the rights holders, (2) minimum identifying documentation of the work of art and (3) an acknowledgment of the ART Participant contributing the multimedia documentation to The Art Museum Image Gallery, except where such an acknowledgment clearly would compromise an educational objective (such as examination).
Prohibited Practices
In no event may a Licensed User: (1) reproduce or distribute any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part; (2) publish any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part, in any medium or by any means, or (3) redistribute any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, outside the Licensed User community specified in this Agreement, in whole or in part, by any means.
Retention of Adaptations
Upon termination of its Subscription Licensed Users may not retain any adaptation of an Art Museum Image Gallery work, in whole or in part, after the termination of this Agreement (with the exception of uses in student assignments and for faculty or student portfolios).
Notices Required
In addition to any other notices required under this Agreement, any adaptation of Art Museum Image Gallery works, in whole or in part, must: (1) clearly identify all changes in the image and/or related documentation, and (2) provide citations or direct links to the unadapted Art Museum Image Gallery work.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)
Indexes abstracts of articles covering visual arts in the 20th century to present. Coverage is from 1974 to the present.
Artchive.com
Online collection of images of artworks from over 200 artists; includes "Glyphs" Art Reviews, online galleries, and a section on "Theory and Criticism."
Artcyclopedia
General guide to art works and museums throughout the world.
Artcyclopedia: Masterscans
Art images from the web, updated daily. Large scans from the original sites.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women's rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century.
Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)
Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to be able to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell.
Artemis Primary Sources (Gale)
Cross search Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).
ARTFL
A French Studies database. A collaborative project from the University of Chicago and other publishers this database provides a wide range of resources. Sources include French texts, articles, encyclopedias, images and dictionaries. Many of the resources are full-text. Coverage includes many classical texts ranging from the 12th to the 20th century.
Artforum Magazine Index
Supplemental index for the magazine Artforum for the years 1962-1968. Art Retrospective and Art Full-Text index the journal from 1969 to present.
Artists of Utah: 15 Bytes
Published monthly by Artists of Utah.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI): Web of Science (ISI)
A citation index for the Arts & Humanities. Database coverage includes the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and indexes individually selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.
ArtsEdge
The National Arts and Education Network.
ArtStor
ARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Collections include The Image Collection (key art works used in arts, humanities, social science studies); The Art History Survey collection (concordance of 13 standard art history survey texts); The Carnegie Arts of the United States (American visual arts and material culture); The Hartill Architectural Archive; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Illustrated Bartsch (European prints from 15th-19th centuries); The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of Chinese art; The MOMA Architecture and Design Archive; The Native American art and Culture from the Smithsonian Institute; and a large number of significant collections being added. For details and tutorials, consult the ARTstor research guide at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/subsutility/viewGuide.php?gid=432&nav=1

Usage Terms

Images may be used for non-commercial, scholarly, and educational purposes as follows. (1) research activities; (2) classroom instruction and related classroom activities; (3) student assignments; (4) public display or public performance as part of a noncommercial scholarly or educational presentation, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field; (5) in a student, faculty, or curatorial portfolio, including non-public display thereof, if such use conforms to the customary and usual practice in the field; (6) in dissertations, including reproductions of dissertations, provided such reproductions are only for personal use, library deposit, or use solely within the institution with which the Authorized User and/or his or her faculty or curatorial readers are affiliated; and (7) on an ad hoc basis and without commercial gain or in a manner that would substitute for direct access to the Artstor Content, sharing a work that incorporates limited Artstor Content for purposes of collaboration, comment, or similar non-commercial educational or scholarly use.

Artvalue.com (Auctions)
Art auction database of information and images of fine arts auction results from the main international auction houses. Supercedes the print Guide Mayer up to 2007. Contains references to 160,000 artists, and over 1,500,000 auction results collected since 1987, from an average of 900 international auction houses.
ArXiv
Searchable database of article preprints on a number of scientific areas including a large number of Physics and Mathematics preprint articles
ASCE Research Library
The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 73,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (ProQuest)
Devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems.
Asia and the West (Gale)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange features a range of primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. These invaluable documents include government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more, offering a detailed look at the inner workings of international relations.
Asian American Health
This Web resource on Asian American Health, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to increase public awareness of the health concerns of these important minority groups, who are major contributors to our society's economy, innovation, and vibrancy. Links are provided to an assortment of documents, web sites, databases, and other resources.
ASIFA (International Animated Film Society)
ASIFA-Hollywood is the Los Angeles chapter of The International Animated Film Society, dedicated to the advancement of the art of animation. Links to many other online animation archives and projects.
AskART
The most comprehensive research database on American Art. Contains biographical and bibliographical information about artists; exhibition listings and records; museum holdings, with links from artists to their museums; auction records and prices for hundreds of thousands of art works; and more than 300,000 digital images for all periods.
ASM Handbooks
Features the complete content of twenty one ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.
ASME Bioengineering
ASME Bioengineering is ASME's division involved in developing and improving medical and surgical devices and procedures.
ASME Digital Library
Journals from 2000 to present and Proceedings from 2008 to present.
Association for Library Services to Children (American Library Association)
The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is the world's largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. From creative programming and best practices to continuing education and professional connections—ALSC members are innovators in the field of children's library service.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Includes all 13,000 ASTM standards, as well as Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and 8 Journals.
Astronomical Society of the Pacific Conference Series
Conference series in Astronomy edited at BYU of the papers of many significant astronomical meetings. Full text of the papers available.
Astronomy & Astrophysics Abstract Service
NASA funded service provides abstracts for over 1,399,000 astronomical articles dating from 1975 for all major journals, many minor journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and many PhD theses. The search engine is web based for author, object name, and keywords, and the abstracts are linked to the full text for most of the major and some of the smaller journal articles.
ATLA Historical Monographs (EBSCO)
American Theological Library Association Historical Monographs presents titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions and on up to 1923. The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding of biblical languages. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.
ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Includes several Mormon journals. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.

Usage Terms

  • NO systematic downloading.
  • Use of the database is for personal, non-commercial use only.

Atlas des Deutschen Reichs (Atlas of the German Empire)
The Atlas des Deutschen Reichs by Ludwig Ravenstein (1883) helps in tracing the roots of families with origins in any part of the German empire from the late nineteenth century to the early twentieth century. Besides Germany, the maps of this atlas also cover the bordering portions of present-day Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hungary, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, the Russian Federation, Slovakia, and Switzerland. Due to the large scale of its maps (1:850,000) and its thorough gazetteer of place-names, one can locate even small towns and villages on the maps in the Ravenstein atlas.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
Select a state from the map to view all of the Atlas' content related to that state, including interactive maps, shapefiles, chronologies, and metadata.
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
AtoZ World Business
Essential information for global business, import, and export.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection (ASP)
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection from Alexander Street Press delivers, for the first time online, more than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation's premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
Audio Engineering Society Electronic Library
The Audio Engineering Society Electronic Library contains most of the Convention Preprints, Conference Papers, and Journal Articles originally published by the Audio Engineering Society between 1953 and 2003. The library contains over 10,000 papers and/or articles. Each of these documents has been stored in Adobe Acrobat(r) PDF format, preserving the highest possible degree of fidelity to the appearance of the document as it was originally published, while also permitting full-text and field searching.
Audit Analytics
Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms in the US. The module Audit and Compliance and Corporate and Legal module covers current or past auditor firms, auditor changes, fees, opinions, SOX 302 disclosure controls, SOX 404 internal controls, legal cases, director and officer changes, company history, share price details, income statement and compliance difficulties. The Corporate and Legal module is an integrated collection of databases focused on actions, disclosures and correspondence by companies, advisers, regulators and investors. It includes five data sets: SEC Comment Letters, bankruptcies, litigation, shareholder activism and tax footnotes.
Austrian Literature Online
Over 15,000 literary facsimiles of Austrian authors from Austrian libraries ranging from women's literature to Tyrolian Latin texts to cookbooks, from postcards to novels to manuscripts.
AuthorMapper (Springer)
A free collaboration tool where researchers can search to see who is doing what research at what university, and when.
Auto Repair Reference Center (EBSCO)
The Auto Repair Reference Center is a full text database containing information on repair procedures, service bulletins, service recalls, wiring diagrams, labor and quick tips for automobiles produced from 1945 to the present.
Avery Index to Architecture (EBSCO)
Coverage of international scholarly and popular periodical literature, professional associations, US state and regional publications, and major serial publications on architecture, design, archaeology, city and urban planning, interior design, and preservation. Indexes from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

Usage Terms

  • May not systmeatically download and store copies of records from any Online Resource or use any record for commercial purposes.
  • May download or print single copies of records as long as a copyright notice is included.

Ayamel Foreign Films
Ayamel is a web-based system for streaming video and audio content especially as it applies to learning a foreign language. Additional aids are available to be used in conjuction with the media, such as captions and annotations. A key feature of the site enables learners to directly interact with subtitle tracks to quickly access translations for foreign words and phrases and view relevant annotations.